Information in simple English

What are the types of leukemia?

Leukemia is divided into four main types:

Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia (ALL):

  • Acute lymphoblastic leukaemia (ALL) is a kind of cancer that affects blood(white blood cells) and bone marrow.
  • The disease spreads quickly and over produces immature white blood cells; called lymphoblasts or leukaemic blasts; instead of mature ones.
  • Its symptoms include feeling exhausted, pale color, fever, easy bruising or bleeding bone ache,

Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML):

  • Acute Myeloid Leukemia (AML) is blood cancer that begins in the soft inner sections of the bones, in the bone marrow.However, it frequently enters the bloodstream.
  • It can spread to other organs such as the lymph nodes, liver, spleen, central nervous system, and testicles.
  • Tiredness, shortness of breath, easy bruising and bleeding, and an increased risk of infection are all symptoms of AML.

Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (CLL):

  • Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia (CLL) is cancer in which the bone marrow produces an excessive number of white blood cell called lymphocytes.
  • It often deteriorates over time.
  • Initially, there are typically no signs or symptoms. Later on, you may experience non-painful lymph node swelling, fatigue, fever, night sweats, or weight loss for no apparent reason.

Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia (CML):

  • Chronic Myelogenous Leukemia (CML) is a type of cancer that affects white blood cells.
  • It is a blood and bone marrow disorder that is slowly advanced by time.
  • Fatigue; and sweats at night are some symptoms of this type of leukemia.